Miss Reay – 2016 Transformational Leader of the Year Finalist

Christi Reay, the Assistant Director of American Leadership Academy – San Tan Valley, was selected as a finalist for the Arizona Charter Schools Association's award, "2016 Charter Transformational Leader of the Year."

The Arizona Charter Schools Association honors exemplary educators annually by recognizing the top charter teacher, leader, business manager and school in Arizona. Those nominated and selected for these awards represent the best and brightest of charter organizations across the state of Arizona.

Miss Reay received her Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education with a minor in Spanish from Brigham Young University. She went on to earn a Master's Degree in Educational Leadership from Grand Canyon University. Christi joined the American Leadership Academy (ALA) organization in 2011 and as she put it, "Here I have found my home. I love our staff, my peers, our ALA families but mostly I love our students!"
In her role as Assistant Director, Christi is responsible for everything involved with the implementation of ALA's academic program at the San Tan Valley campus for over 600 students. As a part of her role, she works directly with teachers to improve the educational experience that ALA offers. "I believe that being a servant leader is key to everything I do. Most people just need someone to believe in them, and I try to do that as much as I can," said Christi when asked about her role as a leader and mentor to the teachers she oversees. Christi's leadership and belief in others has directly impacted the students in her stewardship as evidenced by the recognition of the San Tan Valley campus as an A school by the Arizona Department of Education.
"I'm thrilled to recognize these outstanding recipients of the 2016 Charter Awards, which honor the very best of Arizona's public charter schools," said Eileen B. Sigmund, President and CEO of the Arizona Charter Schools Association. "What these winners have in common is their innovative approach to education and committed focus to the success of their students."

Winners and finalists will be honored at a ceremony on November 2 at the Hotel Palomar.